Dr. Matthew Dannenberg selected to receive Van Allen Natural Sciences Fellowship

Friday, December 1, 2023
Dr. Matthew Dannenberg was selected to receive the James Van Allen Natural Sciences Fellowship for 2024-2025.

Geography PhD candidate Sam Taylor wins 3 Minute Thesis

Friday, November 10, 2023
Two Geographical and Sustainability Sciences graduate students competed in the 3 Minute Thesis finals, with Sam Taylor winning second place.

Environmental Conservation class removes invasive Autumn Olive from constructed prairie

Thursday, November 9, 2023
Dr. Sander's Environmental Conservation class visited and met with MacBride Land Manager Tamra Eliott to learn about habitat restoration and management.

2023 Student Excellence Awards

Tuesday, May 9, 2023
Learn more about the winners of the 2023 Student Excellence Awards.

Hannah Bäck presents at SURF 2023

Wednesday, March 29, 2023
Data Science major Hannah Bäck presented at the 2023 Spring Undergraduate Research Festival.

Dr. Susan Meerdink receives ICRU Distinguished Mentor Award

Tuesday, March 21, 2023
Dr. Susan Meerdink, a faculty member at the Department of Geographical and Sustainability Sciences, has received the ICRU Distinguished Mentor Award.

Dr. Eric Tate named co-chair of National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine committee study

Wednesday, February 15, 2023
Dr. Tate's committee will examine data and methodology used in the leading online screening tools for climate and environmental justice.

Edge of Space Academy inspires next wave of space researchers

Friday, January 27, 2023
The Edge of Space Academy created by Geographical and Sustainability Sciences was recently featured in an article for This Is UIowa.

Caglar Koylu elected VP of CaGIS

Tuesday, January 10, 2023
Dr. Caglar Koylu of the Department of Geographical and Sustainability Sciences was elected vice president of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society.